KTM Forums banner

new 690 owner

3K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  KAT01 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, I'm a first time KTM owner mainly because this is the first KTM I could touch the ground on. I've been motorcycling for 40+ years predominately on Italian bikes. I want to make some changes to my Duke but I find most of the powerparts websites very cluttered not very user friendly. Some of the priority changes I want to make is of course exhaust. Not too loud and maybe something that doesn't require an FI programming change. BTW what is involved in changing a fuel map? Also high on my list are crash guards, windshield, handguards and maybe a rear rack. Looking forward to lots of riding

#2 ·
Welcome aboard and congrats on your KTM!

There are plenty of resources to assist you as to options.

A remap shouldn't be done unless you've removed the catalytic converter and that usually translates into a louder exhaust system.

If you leave the cat on, there are many slip-on options that will ensure that the exhaust is never offensive (and not require a re-map).

A remap is about 30 minutes labor for knowledgeable dealers (others about 1 hour -they seem to struggle with the Duke 4 as a new tool was introduced) the map is free - you just pay for labour but I dont recommend you do this with the cat in place.

With respect to upgrades and PP - see some of the living cool "upgrade"threads updated regularly....and reach out to the guys for details on what you like.

#5 ·
Congrats Motowarren.

Hope you have some spare cash, owning a Duke can be addictive to modifications.

Powerparts Catalogue is just pure pawn (yes I know I spelt it wrong, deliberately).

Guys like Wiwwee and Boldor lead the way on crazy schit to do to your Duke and all in all there are good advise from everyone.

Just remember, KTM stands for "Keep Throwing Money"!

#7 ·