new 690 owner - KTM Forums: KTM Motorcycle Forum
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games
Go Back   KTM Forums: KTM Motorcycle Forum > KTM Bikes > Duke

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2014, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default new 690 owner

Hi guys, I'm a first time KTM owner mainly because this is the first KTM I could touch the ground on. I've been motorcycling for 40+ years predominately on Italian bikes. I want to make some changes to my Duke but I find most of the powerparts websites very cluttered not very user friendly. Some of the priority changes I want to make is of course exhaust. Not too loud and maybe something that doesn't require an FI programming change. BTW what is involved in changing a fuel map? Also high on my list are crash guards, windshield, handguards and maybe a rear rack. Looking forward to lots of riding
86 Moto Guzzi V65 Lario
12 Fiat Abarth 500

Last edited by motowarren; 01-18-2014 at 11:02 AM.
motowarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-18-2014, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mega Poster

Welcome aboard and congrats on your KTM!

There are plenty of resources to assist you as to options.

A remap shouldn't be done unless you've removed the catalytic converter and that usually translates into a louder exhaust system.

If you leave the cat on, there are many slip-on options that will ensure that the exhaust is never offensive (and not require a re-map).

A remap is about 30 minutes labor for knowledgeable dealers (others about 1 hour -they seem to struggle with the Duke 4 as a new tool was introduced) the map is free - you just pay for labour but I dont recommend you do this with the cat in place.

With respect to upgrades and PP - see some of the living cool "upgrade"threads updated regularly....and reach out to the guys for details on what you like.
2cati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Silver Member