Do all 690 riders like to harass 1290 owners? -VIDEO- - KTM Forums: KTM Motorcycle Forum
 38Likes
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 106 (permalink) Old 04-14-2016, 07:51 AM Thread Starter

Location: Utah / Arizona Border on Lake Powell, United States
Unhappy Do all 690 riders like to harass 1290 owners? -VIDEO-

*EDITED: Video link added at bottom of post. Sorry, I am new to all this motorcycle forum stuff.

I am just curious if anyone knows this guy. Seems like he would be a member here.

While out riding my recently purchased 1290R in a SoCal Canyon, this long haired guy in a big black leather jacket catches up to me, and starts punking me. Sticking his wheel up the inside when I slow for the Apex, then exiting the corners on the outside of me doing crossed up wheelies while staring me down mid-wheelie. I get down the the residential area and before I can turn my GoPro on, he starts verbally harassing me, calling me a big Puxxy for owning such a machine and not knowing how to ride it. I tried to explain that it was a new bike to me, and that I was just trying to practice up before taking my motorcycle permit test, as I was told the 1290R SuperDuke was the all around best motorcycle of the last few years. What better a machine to start out on, after stepping up from my Zuma Sports Scooter, right?

Well, this guy with the long hair and mad skills on his KTM 690 Duke, with a obviously modified exhaust, big rear sprocket and Rainbow Heat cooked brake rotors backed it in next to me at the next stop sign and asked if I 'wanted to have a go' or something like that. I then saw his shagged out tires, feathered to the edges adn turning all greasy, something I never read that Metzeler had a problem with before (?) So it had to be his stoppies, and flat tracker super aggressive riding style, as I doubt it was a defective set of tires, as they are made in Germany.