KTM Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I believe I figured out why my bike is not starting. I'll try to explain in detail. Please understand I may not say everything right I am still a noob. Also to respond to all your questions as to why I don't got to a shop or a mechanic. 1 I am a broke college student and 2 I enjoy working on motorcycles. So if it takes me a month or a year to figure something out so be it because I'll just gain knowledge. Anyway so here's why I think my bike won't turn on and if anyone can point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. Today I took the valve cover off of my 08 450 exc-r. This was my first time taking the valve cover off on this KTM I bought it less than a month ago. Anyway I took the valve cover off so I can adjust the valves (or shims) because my shim kit came in today. Upon taking off the valve cover I noticed a huge red flag. On the exhaust side of the valves clutch side. There is supposed to be 2 long black bolts and on the brake side there's 2 silver bolts of course you undo these to loosen the rocker arms and remove the rocker shaft so you can adjust the shims. Anyway I noticed noticed on the clutch side where there's supposed to be 2 of the Long black bolts I only had one on the exhaust side and the other bolt was some cheap Home Depot bolt that was maybe an inch. I knew it wasn't the right bolt. I have a spare engine for my bike that I like taking apart and putting back together just to understand how things work. So at first I didn't pay any mind to it. I used my feeler gauge and checked the intake shims first. Everything was in spec. Great. I then tried the exhaust side. None of my feeler gauges could get threw at any size. I then thought well maybe its out of spec let me remove the rocker arm then remove the rocker shaft. If anyone else has worked on ktm engines with shims you know the shaft is supposed to come out pretty easily. I did everything right TDC, Special tool