KTM Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
2021 1290 Super Duke R (Black)
91 Posts
More to the point: It looks like the sudden draw when you hit the starter is bottoming out the battery, causing a reboot. But I am not a mechanic, so take it with a grain of salt.

·
Registered
953 Posts
What he is saying is that with 1290s, always check the battery first. They do not start if the battery is low and there is always a parasitic draw when the bike is turned off. I have never seen a bike behave like yours is. I doubt it is the problem but add loose ground wire. They have been known to come loose and cause issues.

·
Premium Member
91 Posts
What he is saying is that with 1290s, always check the battery first. They do not start if the battery is low and there is always a parasitic draw when the bike is turned off. I have never seen a bike behave like yours is. I doubt it is the problem but add loose ground wire. They have been known to come loose and cause issues.
Yes, that's what he is saying. Thanks for the translation!

·
Registered
'16 SDGT, et al
813 Posts
My '16 GT goes thru a battery every 12-18 months, even when ridden daily. I've learned over the years that no matter the symptom, just replace the battery. Even if it's a new battery. Just replace the battery, and presto, it's fixed!

YMMV

·
Registered
435 Posts
When I replaced the cheapass OEM with a heavy duty lithium ion (by SSB) with high CCA, all my start issues were resolved (vapor lock when hot, initial stalling when cold). Now it fires up almost instantly first time every time.

·
Premium Member
91 Posts
When I replaced the cheapass OEM with a heavy duty lithium ion (by SSB) with high CCA, all my start issues were resolved (vapor lock when hot, initial stalling when cold). Now it fires up almost instantly first time every time.
Where did you buy that, if you don't mind my asking?

·
Registered
18 SDR
2,315 Posts