KTM Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought a Duke 890 r a couple of months back which, fundamentally, I love; it's a massively enjoyable bike, but I'm struggling with the quickshifter. I have a Translogic shifter on another bike, so it's not like I have no experience of using them, but on quite a few instances, I find it'll give me the gear I'm asking for for a fraction of a second, give me a false neutral and rev to the redline, and then drop me back to the gear I was in before!
Has anyone else had a similar experience? Am I expecting aftermarket performance from a "stock" (though not enabled) product?
More importantly just now, could this issue be damaging the gearbox?
Thanks in advance.
Alastair.

·
Registered
2020 890 Duke R, 2009 R1
178 Posts
Yes, I've had this happen before. It's funny that I find downshifts to be much more simple/smooth. How many miles do you have? I feel like it gets better with more mileage. In fact I was told by my dealer when I picked it up that KTM recommends not touching the quickshifter at all during break-in...then they (the dealer) kind of shrugged it off. So, yeah, one of the first few times I tried upshifting, I hit a false neutral and got some big revs. Keep riding it, keep your chain tension in spec...it should improve if you have lower miles (I'm at about 4300 for reference). I have also found that for upshifts to really go well, I need to be more aggressive all around.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Inhad a false neutral and fell back to 5th trying to shift to 6th 3 times now.

My experience is that they all happened in low RPM, low throttle, and I was not being very spirited in my attempt to shift. In fact it was a downright lazy shift each time on the highway.

·
Registered
42 Posts