KTM Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
The Sanitized Comic
1,430 Posts
I'm all for it, as in racing, competition improves the breed. The chinese are far from the 3rd world manufacturing joke they once were. They seek superior technical instruction from industry leaders around the world and actually put this info to use. I closely follow the electric vehicle industry also. From this perch the advancements seen in battery chemistry is incredible, leap frogging advancements almost weekly. Each month the experts say "well this is about all that can be expected" only to have them eat their words a short time later.

Would be nicer to see an engine designed from a clean sheet of paper rather than stealing designs but that too is what they do.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As a 40+ year machinist, I have to concur with what you say about they're manufacturing prowess. We all had better stay friendly until we get back to up and runnin!

·
Registered
66 Posts
The copy cats. It would be a shame for Austria if they got usurped by the Chinese!
I'd still save up for the premium and buy a real KTM then give money to copycat/stolen design companies. Just China doing what China does best.

·
Super Moderator
3,086 Posts
I'd still save up for the premium and buy a real KTM then give money to copycat/stolen design companies. Just China doing what China does best.
KTM has a factory in India, already makes KTM bits in China (and the Chinese will soon have a KTM factory also) plus Brazil is not far behind. If you follow closely what KTM is today selling you will realize that corners are cut. Bring back the good old days when KTM was actually an Austrian company!

·
The Sanitized Comic
1,430 Posts