KTM Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Story: I needed a rear tire replacement so I took the rear wheel off myself and took it to cycle gear near me got the tire replaced and then I installed the wheel back. When I started riding it the next day, I noticed a slight lean towards the right but I didn't think much of it. Later, when trying to replace oil on my bike, I had to put it on the stand and I saw it was leaning quite a bit almost to the point where it seemed like it would fall off.

Trying to figure out what might be the cause:
  • stands look okay
  • wheel alignment should be okay (since i see the lean when stationary as well)
  • Cycle gear said that they did the wheel balancing
  • I didn't mess with the fork settings

Image attached shows a view from the rear while the bike is on the front stand.

Attachments

·
Registered
435 Posts
Strange. So it was leaning a little when riding, and the photo is how it is when on a front stand?? Then the only thing I can think of that would do that is the forks are uneven through the triple clamps. Can you measure from the top of each fork cap to the upper triple clamp and post your results? Also, when you put the rear wheel back on was it definitely flush against the swing arm axel before tightening it?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Story: I needed a rear tire replacement so I took the rear wheel off myself and took it to cycle gear near me got the tire replaced and then I installed the wheel back. When I started riding it the next day, I noticed a slight lean towards the right but I didn't think much of it. Later, when trying to replace oil on my bike, I had to put it on the stand and I saw it was leaning quite a bit almost to the point where it seemed like it would fall off.

Trying to figure out what might be the cause:
  • stands look okay
  • wheel alignment should be okay (since i see the lean when stationary as well)