KTM Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to dirt bikes and found a "1996" 300 exc, so I bought it. Guy said front fork seals need replacing and even gave me a new set. After some homework I'm not sure its a 96. The seals he gave me are 40mm and from my research, 96 300s are 45mm. I cant find the VIN. on the front the only thing that resembles a VIN is KTM931089753. I know its a 300 because the engine code matches a 300, 546 30 305 400.

Any way to help me figure this out?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'm new to dirt bikes and found a "1996" 300 exc, so I bought it. Guy said front fork seals need replacing and even gave me a new set. After some homework I'm not sure its a 96. The seals he gave me are 40mm and from my research, 96 300s are 45mm. I cant find the VIN. on the front the only thing that resembles a VIN is KTM931089753. I know its a 300 because the engine code matches a 300, 546 30 305 400.

View attachment 98935 View attachment 98936 View attachment 98937

·
Super Moderator
1,474 Posts

View attachment 98935 View attachment 98936 View attachment 98937
Welcome to forum.

546 casings were used in 250 - 380 2 strokers from 90 - 98.(The cc's should be stamped on the cylinder)
Your frame number tells us that the bike was manufactured in October 1993.(9310) Rest of the number is a serial number.

I can not find the 93 forks, but the 94 forks are USD Marzocci and have 40mm seals.

The 96 forks are "conventional" Marzocci forks and use 45mm seals.

Reactions: DW

·
Dirt Wizard
4,244 Posts
Axe is right. The 96-97 exc had conventional forks not upside down. My 360 definitely did. Not that it matters, but the plastics look a little off and wrong colour. Definitely looks like an earlier 93/94.
I will put up a pic of my 96 360 exc. I did remove the headlight and it had a fatty on it, but the rest was pretty standard.

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5