KTM Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked my bike up from my dealer over 2 weeks ago, rode it twice with no issues, except for 1 "shut-off" incident. Last Saturday, I went to the garage ,in my gear, to use the bike for an errand, it did nothing more than:click, click... Monday, the dealer says: bring it back. Upon [email protected] dealer, he observes same condition , and says he doesn't understand it.Nor do I. It's a NEW OEM starter.He replaced it the first time , after having the bike for 2 months. He said on Friday 8/1, that he had a call in to KTM about the issue.I'm getting off of here to call him for an update. For the record, the first starter he replaced was toast,extra crispy , according to him. He said it hardly turned. WOW! And another suffered the same fate, after riding it twice?? I dunno, I'm no expert, but I've been messing with bikes for 30+ years, and so has he, (maybe more for him,he's almost 50!) , but PLEASE don't BS me,bro! I'm a big boy now! We can get thru this!Just be "on the level" with me.I'm asking for input from any other forum members here who have experience with LC4s , or similar starting systems.This is my first KTM 4 stroke.We all know already , that KTM bikes are "top shelf" units. So I'm not down on KTM as a brand, maybe just how the importer's service dept. is handling the issues with this model.I'm having the intermittent shut-down issue as well, just not as severe as some. I am monitoring the issues on another KTM site also.No one there is having any success with KTM either. It seems that the best results are achieved thru dealers that are more supportive of their clients.Not because of KTM's service dept.C'mon KTM! I'd paid $8500.cash for this? For the record, I now have logged just under 1,200 miles on my bike. It's a great bike to ride, sometimes...:confused: gearrider please keep up with us on the issues you're having, and any progress you make in resolving it...I'll post