KTM Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I am having ongoing issues with lack of power in the higher revs and jerky in the high revs (won't rev out) the final thing i can think of is the throttle body needs a good clean along with the injectors. I can't seem to find any guidance on the internet of how easy/hard it is to remove, clean and replace the throttle body of the Duke 690. There seems to be loads on the 390 but none on the 690! Wondering if anyone knew about this? Im no expert and don't want to cause more problems than it already has doing it so if its too hard ill take it to a dealer and get ripped off ;) haha

Cheers in advance

·
Registered
687 Posts
Try a can of fuel injector cleaner in the gas first?

·
Super Moderator
743 Posts
Look into sea foam as well. It's a great product for cleaning out internals.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Try a can of fuel injector cleaner in the gas first?
Hi mate,

Yeah currently running a can through it. About half way through the tank using the Motul stuff but don't notice any improvement on the issue. It is running a lot smoother around the 3k mark though, a lot less jerky low end which is a plus

Cheers

·
Super Moderator
743 Posts
I've heard about this stuff might have to take a look. Have you used it before?
Yes its great. Some in the tank, some in the crank case and could even suck some into an intake line then follow the instructions and prepare to smoke yourself out!

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
So I have stripped the throttle body out and it generally looks pretty clean. Does anyone know if it could be anything underneath the black cover (electronic bit) or not?

·
Registered
7 Posts