KTM Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey two-bangers
So you have a GPS on your bike? What model, what do you like/dislike about it and would you buy again. If you would not, what WOULD you buy?

I am looking at the Garmin Zumo but a friend of mine has it and is less than impressed.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
'16 SDGT, et al
779 Posts
I use an old android smartphone: Motorola Droid Turbo XT1254. It's water repellent, runs Locus, and some other mapping apps, but I wind up using Google Maps more than any other nav app. I can't see the point in having a separate GPS device. There's an excellent thread on this topic in Advrider.

Edit to add: I’ve got at least 3 old smartphones lying around; if the one I’m using now for nav ever crashes, I’ve got replacements ready. But I’ve been using it for at least 5 years.

·
Registered
772 Posts
I use an iPhone in my pocket and the KTM ap to get next turn information on the dash, with voice to my headset in the helmet. I kinda dislike a load of extra bolt-ones, it’s OCD thing I think! Don’t hold it against me please! ;)

The KTM nav app also downloads the entire USA in advance, so works when you have no cell signal. handy for the back roads with no cell coverage. I use it to pre-plan fun riding loops so I don’t miss a turn.

·
Registered
2,701 Posts
Iphone on a Quadlock. I have an old phone I can use as an Ipod and a charge cord inside the tank bag. QL also has a wireless charger mount, but I really don't need it. I usually know about where I'm going and I'll whip out a paper map from time to time.

·
Registered
989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Iphone on a Quadlock. I have an old phone I can use as an Ipod and a charge cord inside the tank bag. QL also has a wireless charger mount, but I really don't need it. I usually know about where I'm going and I'll whip out a paper map from time to time.